Introducing the New Leadership Team of the CAATE!

It is with great enthusiasm that we introduce the new President and Vice President of the Commission on Accreditation of Athletic Training Education.   President Laursen and Vice President Sauers will take office immediately, replacing former President Micki Cuppett who has resigned to accept the position of Executive Director of the Commission.  President Laursen’s term extends through the summer of 2015, while Vice President Sauer’s term extends through the summer of 2014.


Mark-LaursenR. Mark Laursen, MS, ATC, has served as Boston University’s Director of Athletic Training Services since June 2008. At that time, he was also named a Clinical Associate Professor of Athletic Training in BU’s Sargent College of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences.  No stranger to BU, Laursen has served in numerous capacities at the University since 1983, he has previously worked at BU as a Clinical Assistant Professor of Athletic Training, an Athletic Trainer, working closely with the men’s basketball, football and wrestling programs, Interim Head Athletic Trainer, Coordinator of Clinical Education and Interim Program Director.  From July 2007 to May 2008, he was at the University of South Carolina as a member of its graduate faculty where he coordinated all graduate clinical education. He has also been on the athletic training staff at Washington College (MD) and the University of Maryland at Baltimore County.  Laursen has contributed to several publications, has made numerous presentations, and is a reviewer for Athletic Therapy Today, Journal of Athletic Training and Athletic Training Education Journal.

Laursen has volunteered as an athletic trainer at numerous sporting events including the Boston Marathon, NCAA championships for men’s basketball, men’s ice hockey, women’s ice hockey and wrestling, and U.S. Figure Skating and Gymnastics Championships.  A 1983 graduate of Appalachian State University with a Bachelor of Science degree, Laursen majored in Health Education and minored in Athletic Training. He earned his Master of Science degree in 1986 from Canisius College.  Mark has served as a Commissioner since 2010, Vice President from 2011-12 and President Elect from 2012- present.

Vice President

SauersEric Sauers, PhD, ATC, FNATA, is a tenured Full Professor and Chair of the Department of Interdisciplinary Health Sciences at the Arizona School of Health Sciences (ASHS), A. T. Still University (ATSU), in Mesa, Arizona. He received his bachelor’s degree in exercise science from Seattle Pacific University and his master of science degree in sports health care from ATSU. He completed his doctor of philosophy degree in sports medicine at Oregon State University (OSU). His primary research interests are related to the assessment of clinical outcomes and health-related quality of life in athletes following musculoskeletal injury, the examination and rehabilitation of the athletic shoulder and post-professional athletic training education. Dr. Sauers has published numerous peer-reviewed scientific articles and given numerous state, regional, and national presentations related to his research.

He is currently the President of the American Society of Shoulder and Elbow Therapists, a multidisciplinary society of professionals in the area of shoulder and elbow rehabilitation. Dr. Sauers is the Associate Editor for Clinical Outcomes for the Journal of Sport Rehabilitation and an Editorial Board member for the Journal of Athletic Training and the Athletic Training Education Journal. He has served as the Chair of the NATA Post-Professional Education Committee and as a member of the NATA Strategic Implementation Team, Education Council Executive Committee, and the NATA Foundation Research Committee. He has received the President’s Award from the Arizona Athletic Trainers’ Association, the Distinguished Educator Award from the Rocky Mountain Athletic Trainers’ Association, and has been recognized for his dedication to the athletic training profession with the distinction as a Fellow of the NATA.  He joined the Commission on July 1, 2012 and serves on the Post-Professional Transition Team of the CAATE.